Life as a Disney Cast Member

End of a Trilogy

Take in the morning before work on Rene's Birthday. Just before we pushed him into the pool

Take in the morning before work on Rene’s Birthday. Just before we pushed him into the pool

As my trilogy about my Norwegians comes to an end I find this to be the most difficult one to talk about. The reason I find him/this post so difficult is because when things were the worst for me at Disney, he stuck by me. The story goes like this: In the spring I had recently gotten back from a 3 day Disney cruise with my roommate and we’d had an amazing time, or so I’d thought. Little did I know, within two weeks, her and another roommate attempted to get me terminated through housing by calling in a fake maintenance call in our room while we were babysitting a friends pet fish (pets, even fish were not permitted in housing). From there we had a meeting with housing and they began to state that I had been doing other things against the housing codes, yelling, slamming doors, stealing their stuff and at one point almost succeeded in having me sent home, but thanks to the help of another close friends she was able to tell them otherwise. In the end, that ex-roommate told the other Norwegians “a talk to her and I’ll make your like a living hell”. It really hit me hard because not only did I have to move, but I lost 5 of my closest friend at Disney. I suspect that if they didn’t work/see her everyday, for 8-10hrs a day, they probably would’ve ignored her decree as well, but in the end the only one who chose to ignore her was Vegard, and I love him for that.

Vegard and Iselin on our tour around the world

Vegard and Iselin on our tour around the world

After our year at Disney together we still stayed close even with an 8hr time difference and a few thousand miles. Two years ago I had the chance to go visit him during my trip to Europe for his wedding. I spent almost a month staying with him in Norway dragging him around to all the tourist traps and forcing him into Cubus an unimaginable times without him even complaining once. As mentioned the main reason I was in Europe was to attending his wedding to a girl he’d met while working at Disney. I had promised myself that I would not cry, but of course I bawled my eyes out.

One of the sweetest things I’ve ever heard him say was when we were driving to his home town to have his wedding he made a comment to Iselin and I that just melted our hearts (it may not see that way but it really did, we’re family)

“.Vegard: ..You’re like the sisters I wished I never had 😛
Me: aw…. ♥
Isi: Aww, that’s the sweetest insult I’ve ever heard ♥”

Rene, Kathryn, Vegard, Iselin and I at the Bowl-a-Thon

Rene, Kathryn, Vegard, Iselin and I at the Bowl-a-Thon

Check out My Nearest and Dearest Norwegian and Dumdum, Rene for the rest of the Trilogy

Leave a Reply

